#### **DESCRIPTION**

The President's Commendation for Achievement in the Arts is a service award established in 1989 by former Johns Hopkins President Steven Muller to honor a graduating senior *who has contributed extensively to the arts by service* to the Homewood and/or Baltimore communities. The winner of the President's Commendation receives a certificate, and his or her name appears in the commencement program.

Students who wish to be considered for both the President's Commendation for Achievement in the Arts and the Sudler Arts Prize must submit two separate applications.

#### **ELIGIBILITY**

Graduating undergraduate seniors in the Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, the G.W.C. Whiting School of Engineering, or the Peabody Institute who are in good standing and on track to receive a degree at commencement, may apply for the commendation.

All art forms are eligible for consideration. **Only individual students may apply**. Group applications are not accepted.

# **SELECTION CRITERIA**

The winner of the President's Commendation for Achievement in the Arts will have made significant and lasting contributions to the arts by service to the Homewood and/or Baltimore communities. The materials submitted in competition for the award should provide evidence of *quality in performance or execution of service to the arts*.

### **DEADLINE**

# 11:59 p.m. EST, Sunday, March 22, 2020

All applications need to be submitted electronically to sudlerprize@jhu.edu via Dropbox by 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, March 22, 2020. No late applications can be accepted, and all requested materials (including recommendations) should be turned in by this time.

#### **SELECTION PROCEDURE**

Members of the Sudler Arts Prize Committee, composed of faculty and administrators from the Homewood campus, the Peabody Institute, and the School of Medicine, review all materials submitted in competition for the President's Commendation for Achievement in the Arts and the Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts, a \$1,500 prize awarded for excellence in performance, execution, or composition in one of the arts. The committee recommends candidates to the president, who makes the final selections and notifies the winners.



### 2019-2020 SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

# **Required Materials:**

- 1. Completed application form (pdf file labeled: Last Name\_First Initial\_Application)
- 2. An electronic letter of recommendation (doc or pdf file) from a faculty member or other teacher knowledgeable about your artistic achievement while at Johns Hopkins, sent directly to sudlerprize@jhu.edu
- 3. Examples or documentation of your *service* accomplishments (doc or pdf file), which must have been done during the period of your matriculation at Johns Hopkins.

### YOUR APPLICATION FOLDER

• Create a folder on your desktop or another location on your hard drive. Name the folder as follows:

LastName\_FirstName\_Commendation2020 (Example: Smith\_Mary\_Commendation2020)

Place the following into your folder:

- Your PDF application file labeled: Last Name\_First Initial\_Application.
- Your supporting materials: Documentation of your service accomplishments.

## UPLOADING YOUR FOLDER TO DROPBOX

The deadline is Sunday, March 22, 2020 by 11:59 p.m. EST. Do not wait until the last minute to avoid "traffic jams" in our Dropbox account.

- Create a Dropbox Account if you don't already have one (free) at https://www.dropbox.com/.
- Download and read the *Getting Started* file from Dropbox.
- Follow the instructions for uploading your Application Folder to Dropbox.
- Select your Application Folder.
- Click SHARE, then select Invite People to Collaborate and enter the address below: sudlerprize@jhu.edu
- You will receive a confirmation email when we "accept" your Application Folder.

## **OUESTIONS?**

Direct all questions to sudlerprize@jhu.edu



## PREVIOUS WINNERS OF THE PRESIDENT'S COMMENDATION FOR ACHIEVEMENT IN THE ARTS

2019	Julia Zimmerman	theater production, curated Present at Peabody exhibit
2018	Rebecca Kasdan	musical performance, co-director of Peabody String Sinfonia outreach
2017	Lucinda Chiu Saraniya Tharmaraja	music instruction and outreach theater
2016	Eric Chen Polly Ma	photography dance
2015	Heidi Bauer Danielle Sullivan	musical performance dance
2014	Abigail Harri Stephanie King	photography set design
2013	Anthony Collins	musical performance and creation of A Cappella Festival
2012	John-Pierre Cardenas	dance
2011	Claire Grechis Andrew Lelin	musical performance musical performance
2010	Eric Levitz Brandon Lee Stuart	playwrighting performance art
2009	Njeri Osbourne	composition, vocal performance, creation of VIVAZ Performing Arts Company
• • • • •	Brigitte Warner	cartoon art
2008	Herman del Aguila	musical performance
2007	Brittany Sterrett	dance
2005	Katie Gradowski	theater and creation of J-Stream
2004	Annelise Pruitt	music, theater, writing, editing, design, and photography
2003	Jill Rafson	theater
2002	Ivana Amaris Vaughn	theater, music, and dance
2001	Elizabeth Austin Vadim Schick	theater theater
2000	Peter Andrew Meyer	musical composition and performance



# PREVIOUS WINNERS OF THE PRESIDENT'S COMMENDATION FOR ACHIEVEMENT IN THE ARTS

1999	Rachel Masilamani	visual arts
1998	E. Mirnalini Mohanraj	Indian classical dance
1996	Matthew B. Gross	film production
1995	Delee Kim Har Nolan Sebastian Love	musical performance musical performance
1993	Andrew Bragen	theater
1992	Erika Horsey	musical composition and performance
1991	Jeremy Blynn	music
1990	Michael Greenfield John Tennison	music music
1989	Andrew Angelino Amy Schulman	theater music

