Johns Hopkins University logo; photo of a dancer
The Sudler Arts Prize; for excellence in the arts

Prize Details  •  Application  •  Press Release
President's Commendation for Achievement in the ArtsApplication

Applications are invited for the Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts, a $1,500 annual prize established in 1983. The deadline for submitting applications is 11:59 p.m. EST, Sunday, March 29, 2020.

The Sudler Arts Prize is awarded to that graduating undergraduate senior from the Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, the G.W.C. Whiting School of Engineering, or the Peabody Institute, or that fourth-year student in the School of Medicine who, in the opinion of those faculties, has demonstrated excellence and the highest standards of proficiency in performance, execution, or composition in music, theater, dance, creative writing, visual art, or film.

The Sudler Arts Prize Committee, composed of faculty and administrators from the Homewood Campus, the Peabody Institute, and the School of Medicine, will review the applicants and their supporting materials and recommend a candidate. Under the terms of the Prize, the final selection is to be made by the President.

Guidelines for competing for the Sudler Prize and an application form may be downloaded from this Web site.

The Sudler Arts Prize Committee also considers candidates for the President's Commendation for Achievement in the Arts, a service award honoring a graduating undergraduate senior in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, the Whiting School of Engineering, or the Peabody Institute who has contributed extensively to the arts in the Homewood and/or Baltimore communities. For more information click here and follow this link for an application.


2019 Victoria Yeh, painter

2018 Andrés Mallipudi, stand-up comedy

2017 Emily Karcher, photography

2016 Florence Ma, visual arts

2015 Anthony Lee, ballet and dance performance

2014 Malinda McPherson, viola performance

2013 Angela Hsieh, visual and book arts

2012 Emily Feinberg, visual arts

2011 Philip Wolf, cello perfomance

2010 Joanna K. Pearson, poetry

2009 Paul Eliasson, lutherie

2008 Anita Sivaraman, dance

2007 Matthew Stofferahn, composition and
          trombone performance

2006 Rowena McBeath, violin performance

2005 Mónica López-González, piano performance
          Michelle JaJa Chan, visual arts (honorable mention)

2004 Claire Jeong, cello performance
           Julia Wu, piano performance

2003 Kathleen M. Kvortek, photography

2002 Jeffrey Arkles, photography
           Wesley Smith, photography

2001 The Barnstormers, theater

2000 Taka Ariga, cello and piano performance

[Full List of Winners]

Prize details, application, review committee, and press release are presented in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat for viewing. Download the current version of Acrobat here.


Johns Hopkins University